Mmm… cookies in the morning

Hello! This morning I woke up and realized that tonight is the night that I make homemade ice cream with my cousin! My cousin Charlotte graduated from high school this past Sunday and I gave her an ice cream maker for her gift. She LOVES ice cream. While I’m all about eating healthy, I’m also all about splurging once in awhile. And if I’m going to eat ice cream, homemade is the way to go!

My task was to bring the oatmeal cookies to put into the ice cream, so I whipped up a batch of Betty Crocker’s Chewy Oatmeal Cookies, taken from the Cooky Book. My mother-in-law gave me this book a couple of years ago and I love it! This particular recipe is low in saturated fat, and the cookies come out chewy and delicious. I don’t like raisins in my oatmeal cookies, so I just put walnuts in these. They are so good! I mixed them up and threw them in the oven. A few wall squats and calf raises on the stairs later, and I had cookies….

I wasn’t able to get a good workout in this morning… but I ran yesterday and plan on running tomorrow. My days off from exercise tend to be during the week. I also need to rest my right leg. I suffer from Iliotibial Band Syndrome (IT Band Syndrome, ITBS, etc). It first reared its ugly head in October when I was training for and ran my first half-marathon. Thanks to massage, stretching, rolling and strengthening the muscles in my leg, I was able to run with no pain in March, but I’ve been lazy about my exercises and am really feeling it now. We’ll see how tomorrow’s run goes!

I’ll be back with a recap on how the ice cream making goes!

This entry was posted in Cookies, IT Band. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

