Plans that turn into something else…

I wish I was writing about how the homemade ice cream turned out… but when I got to my cousin’s house, she told me we wouldn’t be making ice cream, because it would take too long. I almost didn’t mind, because this was simmering away:

Those are some chicken thighs simmering in a garlic/onion/pepper/chicken stock sauce and the beginning of Oak Town Chicken. Charlotte is a great cook and we’re always happy to eat what she’s cooking. We had a wonderful dinner with Charlotte, her boyfriend, my Nana (who lives upstairs) and my uncle. After dinner and a glass of wine…

I went home to watch the Celtics with my husband.

Yesterday morning I woke up and did NOT want to run outside for some reason. I usually wake up very excited on days that I have a run planned, but for some reason, not yesterday. Possibly because I had a rough run on Wednesday morning? At any rate, I decided to zip over to the gym and do some speed intervals. I’m very very lucky to live exactly a mile from my gym, and when we move I’m going to miss it!

On the treadmill I did:

  1. 3 mins warmup at 5.7 mph
  2. 1 at 7.2-7.5mph
  3. 1-1:30 at 5.8-6 mph
  4. Repeat steps 2 and 3 for 20 mins
  5. 2  mins at 6.0 mph

My goal this summer is to be running a 5K at a 9:45 pace. I am SLOW and always have been, but I don’t think I’ve really focused on speed training. Where I don’t have a big race to train for, I can focus on this shorter distance and building up my speed.

When I came home, I had a Green Monster of sorts:

Into the blender went:

  • 1/2 cup strawberries
  • huge handful of spinach
  • flax
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 2 ice cubes

Usually the Green Monster is sweetened by bananas, but I didn’t have any. I know I bought some this week… I think the supermarket bagger stole them! At any rate, the strawberries and powder masked the spinach taste just fine. It was delicious, and just what I needed after that great run!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

