Take it on the run, baby…

… if that’s the way you want it baby…

What a day! I woke up this morning and came down and made myself some oatmeal. My toppings today were Teddy’s all-natural peanut butter, a few cacoa chips, walnuts, and my mother-in-law’s blueberry jelly. So good.

On my way to work I stopped for a vanilla cinnamon iced coffee. (I was stopped when I took that picture).

For lunch I had some black beans and reduced fat cheddar. I sipped on some Triple Berry seltzer and also enjoyed some strawberries, kiwi, and red grapes for dessert. It was a delicious lunch!

Ever since I read this article about the 15 best foods for runners, I’ve been trying to eat black beans at least once a week. I also eat them the day or night before a big race (such as my half marathon).

My afternoon snacks were another coffee (eep!), some carrots and hummus, and a peach.

As I was getting to leave work, it looked like we had some showers coming. I was so excited to get in my car, drive home, run in the rain, have dinner with Mr. Bricklayer, and relax. So I got to my car and turned the key… and nothing happened. It was D-E-A-D. My hero came to the rescue to jump it and… still nothing. I have no idea what it could be. Then he pointed out that my car has trouble starting sometimes when its raining, which is ridiculous, but he’s right. So I left her there and we’ll see what happens tomorrow when I go to try to start her. Very, very frustrating.

I did NOT want to give up a night of great running weather, though! So I came home, changed, laced up my shoes, and headed out. I live in a great neighborhood to run. Its made up of a few loops, and when I run out of the neighborhood, there are a few different options for where to go. I brought my Blackberry with me for keeping time and Pandora radio, which I have been loving during my workouts lately. Oh, and I left my Shuffle in my car 😦 I did 3.08 miles of hills in 30 mins and 25 seconds, which means I ran at a 9:52 pace!!! I think its a combination of my speed workouts on the treadmill, all the elliptical work I’ve been doing, and keeping up with cardio 5 days a week. At any rate, it felt GOOD.

I came home and rehydrated with some VitaCoco coconut water. Nectar of the Gods.

And then I got down to business of making dinner… a Righteous Salad! Righteous Salads are salads that are a meal all by themselves. They have some kind of protein (usually beans or chickpeas), something a little salty, and of course, lots of green leaf or red leaf lettuce. Tonight’s salad was extra righteous.

It contained:

  • Red leaf/Green leaf lettuce
  • tomatoes
  • green onions
  • chickpeas
  • dried cranberries
  • feta

The other star of this salad was some pan-fried Pork Roll! Pork Roll is apparently big in New Jersey and Philly. Its a pork/ham/sausage like food that you can eat as is, grill it, put it in a pan, etc. One of our friends has family in NJ and has them bring it up when they visit. He shared it with us a couple of months ago and I have to say… I was scared. I’m still a little scared, as I’m sure I’m putting something disgusting into my body. I can’t even find an ingredient list! It certainly added a lot to this salad. I probably had the equivalent of one slice, all cut up in my salad.

Looks like Spam, doesn’t it?

And that’s that! I just enjoyed a Magic Hat #9 and am about to fling myself into bed. Tomorrow is another day, and Black Betty will start in the morning for me, I know it!

This entry was posted in Righteous Salads, Running, Running food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

