A glass a day…

The weekend is here! The weekend is here! Anyone have any fun plans?

The Celtics did NOT beat LA last night. Oh well, it was a great season and an exciting game 7! But… it keps me up late and I had a hard time getting going this morning… When I finally came downstairs, I had my daily first-thing glass of water and got busy making my oatmeal. A couple of months ago, I started putting a glass of water into my body as the first thing in the morning, having read about some of its benefits. Drinking water FIRST (before coffee, tea, soda – if that’s your thing, brushing your teeth, etc) has been said to

  • flush out toxins that have been stored at night
  • bring up our metabolism rate
  • clear the skin
  • prepare our bodies to absorb all the vitamins and nutrients we get from our food throughout the day
  • help us swallow some enzymes that hang out in our mouth til we wake up

I’ve definitely noticed that I feel more awake after my glass of water in the morning. Try it for a week and see what happens! Some people claim it helps with weight loss, but I haven’t been paying attention to my weight in conjunction with my first-thing water.

My oatmeal today had

  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • cinnamon

Topped with

  • natural peanut butter
  • cacao chips
  • homemade blueberry jelly
  • walnuts

I’ve found that on days that I eat oatmeal for breakfast, I’m not hungry until pretty late in the morning. I stopped on the way to work and got an iced coffee and had this banana around 11.

Lunch was leftover broccoli and couscous from last night, with a side of chickpeas. It was HOT outside today (90 degrees before 9am!) so I didn’t heat anything up, ate it all cold!

Then I was bad and had a piece of cheese pizza… but had a peach for my mid-afternoon snack. I’d call it a wash πŸ˜‰

For dinner, we had a very summery mix: hot dogs, beer, ice cream. Not all at once. But it was killing me that there was no fruits or veggies in there, so I threw together a quick cucumber salad.

That is 1 cucumber, 2 tbsp chopped fresh basil, 2.5 tbsp rice vinegar, a pinch sugar, salt and pepper. It was very refreshing and the perfect end to our summer dinner.

Throughout the evening I’ve had two of these as well

Tastes like summah…

And I’m off! Tomorrow I have to get a lot done around this house, hopefully get a workout in, and cook dinner for a very special guest. πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A glass a day…

  1. Pingback: I’ve got legs and I know how to abuse them | Hit the Bricks

Leave a Reply

