Whirlwind

Good morning!

Yesterday was a whirlwind of activity. We rambo-cleaned the house all morning, went to pick up my car in the afternoon, I went shopping, and then I cooked a delicious dinner for my dad for Father’s Day. All that was wrong with my car is that it needed a new battery! The terminals were corroded. Silly battery. So Black Betty lives to drive another day!

My breakfast was my usual oatmeal with two changes. Instead of cinnamon I put ginger in while it was cooking, and I added some of this:

I had been hunting for reasonably priced coconut forever and finally found some! This whole bag was $3.99 and I can tell its going to go a long way.

I loved the coconut… not sure how I felt about the ginger. I think because I’m used to using ginger in more savory dishes, it tasted a little funny. But I’m going to try it again, because ginger is good for you!

I needed some energy midmorning, so I made us a couple of Green Monsters with spinach, banana, flax, almond milk, strawberries and ice. It gave us lots of energy to finish our cleaning!

On the way to get my car, we stopped to split a chicken salad sandwich. We also got these Food Should Taste Good chips which I LOVED. Why haven’t I tried these yet? We split the bag but I could have easily polished it off myself.

I squeezed in a workout before making dinner. There was only me and one other person in the gym! I rolled out my leg muscles with the hard foam roller, did some active stretching, and then did some back and bicep strength moves. I ended with 20 mins on the elliptical. I figure out why I am running faster! Its all about the elliptical. Although its not actually running, I feel like its the same movement, and its all cardio, right? I noticed that when I was elliptical-ing, I did 2.3 miles in 20 mins… a little faster than my normal 10 minute mile pace. Hopefully, with more elliptical and more speed work, I’ll pass my goal of a 9:45 mile this summer! I might even shoot for 9:30 mile…

For our special dinner, I made individual Beef Wellingtons. We had potatoes and salad on the side. Beef Wellington is a broiled filet topped with some liver pate and sauteed mushrooms, wrapped in puff pastry, and baked until golden brown. Typing it out makes it sound easier and less time consuming than it is… but I dirty a LOT of dishes when I make it, and the timing can be tough, so I only make it on special occaisions. Father’s Day is pretty special don’t you think?

And we’re off to watch the Italian soccer game with my father in law who is from Italy. We’re going to the North End first, pics later! Happy Father’s Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

