Winding down and winding up

Happy 4th of July weekend! And for any Canadian friends, I hope you had a great Canada Day, and enjoy the weekend, too 🙂

I woke up TIRED again yesterday morning! After thinking about my food choices over the past few days, I realized that I hadn’t been getting nearly enough vegetables, especially the green kind. After a couple of leftover blueberry muffins from yesterday, I made us a couple of Green Monsters. They included:

  • 3 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 banana
  • flax
  • almond milk
  • 2 ice cubes

It did the trick! I still stopped for an iced coffee on the way to work, though.

I snacked on some almonds mid-morning before looking at a house with the husband. We are putting our house on the market on Monday! 😯 This weekend is dedicated to packing up everything that we don’t use on a daily basis and getting it out of the house, hence the storage pods that got delivered earlier this week. So while last night was relaxing… this weekend won’t be!

Lunch was a veggie wrap with

  • 1/2 an avacado
  • Sabra garlic hummus
  • lettuce
  • tomatoes
  • cukes
  • green onions

It was just okay, but definitely necessary to get the veggies into me.

At 2:30 my boss told me to take off and enjoy the weekend! I was so excited but almost didn’t know what to do with myself. We did need some things at the supermarket, and TJMaxx is right next-door… so you can guess what I spent some time doing 😉 I actually don’t usually buy a lot when I go to TJs, but for some reason, walking around that store (especially the homegoods section) really relaxes me. Strange? I did buy a new running top and a bathing suit for my beach visit on Monday 😀

I came home and threw on my new shirt and other running gear and set out to do the other thing that helps me unwind, I went for a run.

Running really does whatever I need it to do for me. Helps me unwind, gives me time to think, wakes me up in the morning, etc. Running, I love you.

I did 3.2 miles in 31 mins 28 secs. Getting slower… have to up the water intake and speed training!

Then we had an All American dinner of hot dogs, corn on the cob, and beer

Yes I had two hot dogs. Its 4th of July weekend!

And we got some soft serve

And hunkered down for a relaxing night to charge up for the weekend!

Question: What do you do to unwind?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winding down and winding up

  1. Haha I absolutely cannot walk out of TJMaxx without at least one new workout outfit! When I’m not trying to reign in my budget, I find shopping in general to be fun and relaxing. Otherwise I’m curled up on the couch with a good book. 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. I totally agree with you… running does all of those things!

Leave a Reply

