I get by with a little help from my friends

Aww…

I love my friends. Love, love, love them. I’ve been picking up friends since middle school and am lucky enough to keep finding wonderful women wherever I go. I am still friends with the first friend I made at a new school in fifth grade and the first new friend I made in high school. We still get together as a group for birthdays, weddings, showers, kids birthdays, all that good stuff.

My best friend from college lives in New York, so I don’t get to see her that often, but we’ve had a great couple of years planning our weddings and festivities, and now she has a baby on the way. We met over an inappropriate joke I made during a training and became fast friends. We didn’t meet until our junior year, and we grew up only 20 minutes from each other! Could have had a great carpool partner for holidays!

And since we spend so much time at our place of work, I’ve also picked up some great girlfriends over the past 10 years at my many different jobs. These friends have been just as important to me as the ones I’ve had for longer. I feel that as we grow, our relationships and our roles in them also grow, and its important to surround yourself with people who see you at all kinds of ups and downs, and still love you for it. Since I spent so many of the past 10 years unhappy work-wise, these girls have seen me crying in the bathroom (or at my desk!), get ripped apart by a boss, need a jump start in the parking lot, etc. And they still love me, go figure!

Now, it seems that there’s another kind of friend. I’ve gotten some questions lately from friends and family about blogging and Twitter. What is Twitter? Why do you have a blog? What makes someone an expert enough about something to blog about it? So its gotten me to thinking about this new world we’re in. I describe Twitter as constant status updates, I think a lot of other people do, too. And blogging, well, that’s different for everyone. For some people, its a journal. Some people do it for support. Some people use it to keep them on track with something. Some people do it for the community aspect of it. I can’t put my finger on why I do it, and I think its tough to explain to people who don’t do it and don’t get it. But I do think of all my new bloggie friends as pen pals for the 21st century, and I was thinking the other day of how neat it is that thanks to social media, I feel like I could go to so many places around our country and find someone to meet up with for a run, or a drink, or some kind of an adventure. So in the spirit of #Follow Friday, below are some people that I feel you should be reading or following, brought into my life by the magic of cyberspace.

Adventure Girl @100 Days In Bed – Her tweets are funny and her blog posts are powerful. She makes me want to sneak wine in with me everywhere I go and live with no regrets.

Secret Agent L – Living my dream of spreading the spirit of random acts of kindness everywhere. She has Affiliated Agents everywhere doing her bidding and helping people. Very inspiring!

Healthy Tipping Point – The first food/fitness blog I read and has been a big inspiration for me! If you’re reading my blog, you may already be reading HTP…

Fit Chick in the City – Another fitness blog and one of my favorite Tweeps. I love the way she talks about NYC and gets excited to teach her classes!

Healthy Living with Kelly – Another runner, and she gives great food and fitness tips! Lots of recipes, too.

Oh She Glows – Where I first read about Green Monsters. Blogs about recipes, her vegan bakery, and her glowing life.

The Fitnessista – I can NOT recommend her Summer Shape Up workouts enough! I’ve talked about it on the blog before… I’ve dropped inches off my measurements and feel super strong, thanks to her.

No Upper Lip – One of my real-life best friends, her blog is described as Andrea Zuckerman’s attempt at Carrie Bradshaw. She’s new to the blogging world, so show her some love πŸ˜‰

Health for the Whole Self – Last but definitely not least! Katie blogs about food and fitness, and also health of the heart, mind, and soul. She leads some pretty great discussions!

I read a lot of blogs, and I didn’t include everyone. I’m thinking I’ll do another cyber-buddy post in a couple of months or so. Until then, happy following, happy reading, and have a GREAT weekend!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I get by with a little help from my friends

  1. Thanks for listing all of these great blogs! I haven’t heard of a few of em. Def. going to check them out!

  2. Thanks so much for mentioning me here! I was actually just telling someone yesterday that I feel very connected to many of my blog friends, and they kind of laughed at that idea – but it’s true! I’m so thankful to be a part of this wonderful community. And in all honesty, Twitter has only made it better – that’s how I found your blog, actually! And I feel like even in this short time we’ve been able to connect and get to know each other, which I’m so thankful for. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m so flattered that you added me to your list. Thank you!

    I was trying to explain twitter to someone the other day, and I just felt like I was selling it short. I love twitter.

    • mgrasso09 says:

      I LOVE Twitter. My husband teases me about it, but he doesn’t know what he’s missing. I have the hardest time explaining hashtags to people…

Leave a Reply

