Minty Fresh!

Sunday night I finally ended up going for a VERY HILLY run with Charlotte and Nick. The hills were crazy… but I kept up! Normally I would stop to walk, but I think being with other people really helped me motor up them! Actually, I’m finding that I’m a little stronger on the hills these days. I attribute it to my strength training, increase in cardio workouts, and new mental toughness πŸ˜‰ I’ve gone from dreading hills and slowing down, even walking them – to tackling them and running up them. I figure, they all have to end somewhere! How do you tackle hills?

I woke up yesterday morning and made myself some oats

topped with

  • almond butter
  • walnuts
  • coconut
  • the blackberry jam I bought at the farm on Sunday. YUM.

I also had an English Breakfast Tea with honey and fresh mint.

I had some leftover mint, so I ripped it up and put it in a glass with an inch of water or so. See, I love Metromint mint water, but financially its an indulgence for me. We have a huge mint plant, so I decided to try making my own mint water… and it kind of worked! After letting the mint sit in that little bit of water for awhile to let the juices come out, I put that little bit of water in my water bottle with more water. I think if I used even MORE mint, it would be just as minty as Metromint’s… which I’m still going to buy from time to time. I also love mint in my tea, mint tea, mint juleps, mint chocolate chip ice cream, etc. You see where I’m going here. I love mint! So I was thinking… I hope it has some nutritional benefits. And it looks like it does:

Source

  • Digestion: Mint is a good appetizer and promotes digestion, due to its typical aroma. It also soothes stomach in cases of indigestion, inflammation etc. This aroma of mint activates the saliva glands in our mouth as well as glands which secrete digestive enzymes, thereby facilitating digestion. Thus it is extensively used in culinary.
  • Nausea & Headache: Again, the strong and refreshing aroma of mint is an excellent and quick remedy for nausea. Whenever you feel it, just smell the oil of mint or crushed fresh mint leaves or use any product with mint flavor, whichever is available near you, and it will be gone. In fact, many people keep mentha oil or mint flavored products with them to avoid nausea, particularly when they are traveling. Balms based on mint or simply mint oil, when rubbed on forehead and nose, gives quick relief in headache.
  • Respiratory Disorders, Cough etc.: The strong aroma of mint is very effective in opening up congestion of nose, throat, bronchi and lungs, giving relief in respiratory disorders resulting from asthma, cold etc. As it cools and soothes throat, nose and other respiratory channels, it gives relief in cough too. Many balms are based on this property of mint. Unlike other inhalers which are based on aerosols, those based on mint are more effective and eco-friendly too.
  • Asthma: Regular use of mint is very beneficial for asthma patients, as it is a good relaxant and gives relief in congestion. But, over dosage may irritate as well.
  • Skin Care, pimples etc.: While mint oil is a good anti septic and anti pruritic, mint juice is an excellent skin cleanser. It soothes skin, cures infections, itching etc., and is also good for pimples. Its anti pruritic properties can be used for treating bites of insects like mosquitoes, honey-bees, hornets, wasps, gnats etc
  • Oral Care: This is a well known property of mint. Being a germicidal and breathe freshener, it takes care of oral health by inhibiting harmful bacterial growth inside mouth and by cleaning tongue and teeth.
  • Cancer: Current researches show that certain enzymes present in mint may help cure cancer.
  • When leaves of Mint are grinded in pestle and mortar to prepare a paste and eaten it can be helpful in food poisoning.
  • This Herb is bombarded with many vitamins and minerals. It contains carotene, the pigment which is part of Vitamin B complex family. It also contains good amounts of Thiamine.
  • It works as a powerful antioxidant. It is because of this reason that it has been extensively studied as anticancer drug. Minerals present in Mint include calcium, Phosphorus, Zinc, Copper, magnesium and manganese, Selenium and fluoride
  • Due to its anti-inflammatory properties, it is helpful in stings.
  • Mint juice can be applied on burns to heal and soothe them.
  • Although you may not even know it, your body can stay protected from certain types of infections when you opt to include mint in your diet on a regular basis. Mint is known to help slow down how quickly both bacteria and fungus grow in the body. In some cases, mint may even completely help stop bacteria and fungus from growing at all.

Sources here, here and here.

Mint… its not just for mouthwash!

Lunch was a wannabe Righteous Salad

  • garden lettuce
  • garden cucumbers
  • chickpeas
  • feta
  • dried cranberries
  • oil & vinegar

And a plum for dessert.

Shoulda put some mint in there…

I ate lunch late, so I didn’t get hungry for my snack, but I was starving for dinner! I made these Beef & Bean Burritos that I saw on The Healthy Apron. I used ground turkey, though πŸ˜‰

Erm loved these! I’d like to make homemade enchilada sauce, though… anyone have a recipe?

They sure were delicious. But, I think I ate mine to fast and with bad posture and it sat in my stomach like a rock. I only had one of the three, which is rare for me πŸ˜‰ Needless to say, I couldn’t even fathom going out for a run, which was sad. But I knew it would have been disastrous. And we know how I feel about listening to your body! I’ll be doing a post on that soon, too.

Have a great night!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Minty Fresh!

  1. Hey! Thanks for the shout out! I’m so glad you tried the burritos! I agree, SUPER filling!! Must be the bean + meat combo!

  2. tanyasdaily says:

    Your salad looks really good!

  3. Great info on mint! I love the smell of mint and find it so relaxing! I don’t like mint in my food though. Drinks, yes. Food, no.

    Glad you found me through #fitblog!

  4. Great idea! I love mint tea, so maybe I should try mint water.

Leave a Reply

