Diminishing Rest Intervals, the maiden voyage

I’m going to come right out and tell you that my camera has not been in my possession for a week now, so you’re getting phone pics. Feels good to get that off my chest.

I finally tried Diminishing Rest Interval speed training on Sunday, which I’ll talk about shortly. But something was up with my stomach all weekend. I went out with my mom during the day on Saturday and when I got back to her house my stomach was upset, my eyes hurt, and my head hurt. It felt like the beginnings of a migraine, which I haven’t had in over 10 years. I had to skip a party I was supposed to go to Saturday night. So I went home and rested in my couch.

Sunday we went to my in-laws house and got started on making tomato sauce. Every year in August they get a bunch of tomatoes, boil them, pass them through the machine, and store the sauce for the whole year. And we get some, too. šŸ˜‰ When we went to Italy last year, I spent a day on the farm making sauce with the family, which was interesting because sometimes Erm’s uncle or aunt needed to give me directions, but they don’t speak English, and I don’t speak Italian. Good thing I was a mime in another life.

This weekend we are supposed to do 8 bushels of tomatoes. Sunday we did 3, I think.

Then we went home and did some stuff around the house and I got dressed and decided to do some Diminishing Rest Intervals! As I’ve explained before, the concept is to take the distance you want to run, split it into thirds, and run a third as fast as you can, then rest for half the amount of time it took you to run it. Then repeat two more times. Do it a couple of times a week, then cut your rest time down by 30 seconds the following week and so on. The idea is to improve the quality of each mile, as opposed to just trying to run 3 miles as fast as you can every time.

I mapped out my mile out-and-back from my house, put my Blackberry and water in the mailbox, and took off. The first mile felt really good and really fast, and I couldn’t believe how quick it went. But it was definitely hard work. The second mile sure felt slower, but I still felt pretty good. I was anticipating getting slower as the miles went on. At the beginning of the third mile… I almost turned around. My stomach was feeling no-so-great and I was nervous about traveling a half mile away from my house. But I kept telling myself, this isn’t going to work if you wuss out and stop, you’re only going to get faster if you push yourself. So I did, and got back okay, but that last mile took a long time and took a lot out of me. My times

  • Mile 1: 8:27
  • Rest: 4:10
  • Mile 2: 8:58
  • Rest: 4:30
  • Mile 3: 10:09 <— lots of walking and trying to avoid a disaster

My thoughts on this while doing it: NO FUN. But I can only imagine how much it pays off. And I think the way my stomach was feeling had a lot to do with my struggles. Plus, I think it will help me with pacing myself, it looks like I’m faster in the beginning, and I’d like to end as strong as I start. I’m definitely willing to try it for a little while and see if it translates to a faster time. And it couldn’t have been that bad, I still had energy to be a fountain afterwards.

And you can bet I was craving a Green Monster after that workout!

Not really green…

  • spinach
  • 1/2 banana
  • frozen blueberries
  • flax seed
  • chocolate protein powder
  • almond milk

I’m going to try another DRI session tonight or tomorrow and see how it goes!

Have you tried anything new lately?

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Diminishing Rest Intervals, the maiden voyage

  1. Kristy says:

    Look at all those tomatoes!!! I bet those are so good in the middle of winter!! šŸ˜‰

  2. Tina says:

    I’ve never heard of that for mileage. I know I’ve heard of diminishing rest intervals for basic interval workouts (hard for 1 minute, rest for 1 minute then hard 1 minute rest 45 seconds and so on). That sounds insanely tough to do for a mile, then rest, then another mile, rest, etc. Wow!

  3. Pingback: And for my next trick… | Hit the Bricks

Leave a Reply

