Hey, soul sister

What a weird week! But when all’s said and done, I am on vacation right now! Woo hoo!

Thursday I went to see my running buddy/foodie friend/cousin-sister Charlotte before she left for school. Nobody was home when I got there, so I went for a run in my Bondi Band!

I did 2.01 miles in 19:26, a 9:40 pace. Not too shabby, but I felt awful during the run and just wanted to get back. I definitely didn’t drink enough water during the day! Lesson learned.

Charlotte came home with zucchinis from her farm, some other veggies, and ground pork and bacon from a meat farm. Do you have tons of zucchini that you don’t know what to do with? I’m going to do a whole post on that, BUT, here’s a sneak peak. Zucchini boats!

First, we browned the pork and cooked the bacon. Then, we cut up some broccoli, onions, red peppers, and mushrooms and sauteed them. Then we combined it all.

While that was going on, we halved the zucchini and hollowed it out and brushed it with oil and threw it in the oven to soften it a little bit. Then we mixed the meat and veggies with some bread crumbs and cheese, put that all into the zucchini, and put it back in the oven until the cheese was a little brown and everything was heated through

It was so good! The farm meat made a huge difference!

After some chatting, it was time for me to say goodbye to Charlotte. When I say “say goodbye”, it sounds like she’s going halfway across the world, but she’s actually not much farther from me now than she was before. And I’ll see her almost as much as I have been. It seems like just yesterday that she was just a wee babe.

I was 13 when she was born, so until recently, she’s been my “baby cousin”. Two years ago I asked her if she wanted to run a race with me that was in her town. I didn’t realize how much running would change our relationship.

We’ve run a bunch of races together, been through some ups and downs together, and learned about healthy eating habits together.

We have so much in common and have so much fun. She means more to me than I can say. Sometimes, its really like having a sister.

She’s going to school to study something she is so passionnate about, and I couldn’t be more excited for her. So on Thursday, it was with lots of pride and tears that I said goodbye and left before I could cause a big scene.

Bye bye little buddy! I’m excited to hear about all your adventures!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey, soul sister

  1. I just had to comment. Those Zucchini boat look so delicious! And such a simple recipe!

    I will be trying these in the near future.

    Great blog!

  2. You two are so sweet together! 🙂

Leave a Reply

