My first time at yoga

With everyone going back to school, I wanted to start something new, too! So tonight, I tried yoga for the first time.

I went to Union Yoga Studio. I’ve been meaning to try yoga for awhile. I read so many good things about it from celebrities and other bloggers that I just had to. And I’m trying to do one thing around here by myself every month, its a new thing. In August, I went into Boston solo and went to the Museum of Fine Arts. I LOVE the MFA, and honestly, nobody really likes going to museums with me. I’m completely annoying and a really big dork.

Back to yoga. I asked what kind of yoga would be good for a newbie and was told that anything with the word “flow” in it is a good pace for beginners. So tonight I went to Prana Flow yoga. 

Prana Flow is an energetic, creative approach embodying the flow of yoga. Prana Flow’s fluidity, rhythm and creativity allows for another aspect of growth and change, enabling students of all levels to experience prana – the universal source of breath, life-energy and conscious intelligence. Practitioners learn classical and innovative approaches to vinyasa yoga and the state of flow drawn from Shiva Rae’s teaching experience. (taken from Union Studio’s website)

To be honest, I was nervous! But I told myself that people try yoga for the first time all the time, no biggie. Imagine how happy I was when the instructor told me that it was a new class to the studio and nobody had done it before! 😀

The 75 minutes went by pretty quick, although it was frustrating at times. Turns out I am horrible at Downward Facing Dog! The instructor had to come over more than once to correct me 😳 I blame my tight hamstrings. But then we did Pigeon Pose and she came over to tell me that I had great flexibility in my hips, which really made me happy.

Throughout the class, I kept thinking of how great yoga will be for my running! The more I stretch out my hips and hamstrings, the better my legs will function and the faster I’ll be.

All in all, I liked yoga. It was enough of a challenge for me that it will keep me entertained. I can’t give an opinion on Prana Flow because aisde from a class at the gym 7 years ago, its the only yoga I’ve ever done. There was someone in the class who takes a lot of classes and the instructor asked him how he was doing and he said “I’ve never sweated so much in my life”, so that must be good, right? I can also already feel that I’m going to be sore tomorrow, and I love that feeling. Mentally, it was a challenge for me. I’m a runner, and strength training closely follows running as my favorite exercise. It actually takes some effort for me to rein it in and tone it down.

Will I be buying a Namaste bumper sticker any time soon? No. But I’m going to keep going back for a few weeks and see where this takes me. I’d love to integrate yoga into my weekly routine!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first time at yoga

  1. Believe it or not, downward dog can be difficult for many people when first starting. It seems like such an easy pose but there are so many alterations to your posture that you can make. Each time you go into the pose you feel something different!

    Oh, and I love the MFA. Seriously a wonderful museum. I’m actually a huge museum gal and I love to go by myself too!

  2. kilax says:

    Yay for first time yoga!

    I am really bad at Down Dog too! I need to go to a studio so I can have someone correct me!

    I do like yogas that flow like that though! It really builds up the heat as you go through the movements!

Leave a Reply

