Running on Vacation: Andover, NH

This past weekend we went up to stay with a couple couples and one baby on a small lake in central New Hampshire. The company was great, the views were great, and the cabins we stayed in were great. It was the perfect end-of-the-summer weekend. I remember thinking on the way up about how much I love New Hampshire. Erm thinks that people from New Hampshire wear flannel and belt buckles, but I’m still trying to figure that one out.

Saturday I decided I was going for a run, but I had no idea where I was going. I was just excited to get out in the fresh air and move!

I almost ran on the snowmobile trail, but it was a little sketchy looking, so I decided to run on the road. To give you an idea of how desolate it was up there, this is a picture of the busiest road in town, where I did the majority of my run.

NO CARS. It was a little eerie, actually. No cars, no houses. Quite different than my run in Central Park! The good news is that I didn’t get lost or confused. Just out and back, easy peasy.

Agony Hill Road? No thanks.

I don’t know how far I ran, but I do know I ran for 23 minutes or so. I felt really good, which I was pleasantly surprised about, since I drank more than a couple glasses of red wine the night before. Whoopsy.

I came back and lunch was being put out, sandwich bar! I didn’t feel like eating deli meat, so I had a lettuce, tomato, cheese, and onion sandwich.

Boring, but I made up for it. Erm and his friend constructed a grill out of the fire pit by putting the grate from the grill on top of it. They burned some hickory down to charcoal and used that for heat. They love their grilled meat!

You can bet I had a piece of that steak. And some potatoes. And some pasta salad. And then a s’more later. Which reminds me… have you ever had a s’more? Erm had never had one! He thought it sounded like the craziest thing… until he ate one. Halfway through he asked “Can we make these at home?”. I guess he liked them 😉

Sunday I woke up to this view

I had some coffee and enjoyed the quiet before making brunch. I was so busy cooking that I didn’t take any pics! After brunch we played Apples to Apples, cleaned up, and left. It really was a great weekend, and we’re already looking forward to next year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Running on Vacation: Andover, NH

  1. sounds amazing to me!! Miami is always so loud, I just love when I can get away some where to explore a new place!

  2. I love getting out on the open roads for long runs! It really let’s me focus on the run!

  3. Sounds like a lot of fun! I often run on very busy streets, so I think I would have enjoyed the solitude. I can’t believe that was Erm’s first time having a s’more!

  4. I love going up to NH! It is so quiet and beautiful. looks like lots of fun just getting out in the great outdoors!

  5. BIOCHEMISTA says:

    hahaha, I just posted on your recent post asking where you live! I’m also from NH! My parents live in Auburn, NH (just outside of Manchester). Or as some call it, Manch-Vegas! hhaha

Leave a Reply

