Run it, walk it, love it

Hi hi!

Man I was in a funk this week, workout wise. I LOVE all forms of exercise, but I have to be honest, there are some weeks that I just don’t feel like doing it, and just want to spend my free time sitting on the couch and knitting, or sleeping, or hanging out with the husband. Its starting to get nice and cool up here in New England (YAY) which is great for hunkering down, but also great for running!

I have yet to officially sign up, but I am running the Tufts 10K for Women. I ran this race 3 years ago and it was so fun! At that point, I had never run more than 5 miles and my goal was just to finish the race. This time, I’d like to run it in 60:00 or less. Pretty reasonable, but it means NOT being lazy in these next few weeks.

It was gorgeous on Wednesday so I decided to just get out there. Running, walking, whatever. I knew that moving would feel good, so I put on my race shirt from the ’07 10K and psyched myself up.

When I make faces like this, I wonder how my husband is still attracted to me.

I set off on my normal 3+ mile route around my neighborhood. I had to walk a couple of times but other than that, I felt AWESOME. You know what I mean. It was one of those runs where I felt faster than usual, my legs felt good, and I felt strong. As usual, I timed myself with my Blackberry stopwatch, and when I stopped it at the end in front of my house it said 29:36.

Which means it must have been broken.

3.2 miles at 29:36 is 9:15/mile and there is no way I ran that fast.

I even drove the route the next morning to make sure that my distance was what I thought it was and sure enough, it was a little over 3.2 miles. So the watch must be broken. I refuse to get excited about that time, because I don’t think its real. It can’t be.

Can it?

Do you ever get in a funk about working out/running? How do you get yourself out of it?

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Run it, walk it, love it

  1. What a great first run back out! You should be proud of your pace. 🙂

    This cooler weather is so helpful for outdoor working out, isn’t it?!

  2. Kathie says:

    All the hype about, Do it and you’ll feel better, is right. And so is your Blackberry! Good job!

  3. BIOCHEMISTA says:

    The Tufts 10K is my ALL-TIME favorite race!!! I love the energy and all of the women are so inspiring!

    Where in NE do you live?? Although I live in DC now, I’m from NH (and go there often) and went to undergrad in Boston.

  4. kilax says:

    Way to get out of that funk!

    I have been in a funk for awhile. I just want to sit on the couch every night… but never really get to!

  5. Ger says:

    I started running a couple of months ago and now I run 3.2miles every day or every other day but every time I go for a run, after 5 or ten minutes these thoughts run through my head: “Oh my gosh how am I going to do the whole three miles”, “My legs are tired ALREADY?”, “Why do I do this to myself” and so on…

    Before I run I almnost have to psyche myself up to get my running gear on and get out! But when I do, and I arrive home all sweaty and out of breath, I feel so proud of myself for sticking it out.

    BTW – your pace is great!!! (It’s the same as mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

