Apples, cinnamon, and bread

While making my regular oatmeal last week, I looked over at the huge bag of apples we have on the counter from our most recent picking. Aside from pies, applesauce, and casual eating, I’m always looking for things to do with apples… And then it hit me. It was kind of like the old commercials where the chocolate and the peanut butter bumped into each other and made peanut butter cups!

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 apple, cut into small cubes

Bring the above to a boil and add

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • ~ 1 tsp cinnamon (I didn’t measure, I just shook the bottle til it looked like enough)
  • couple dashes nutmeg

Cook for about 4 mins

I added walnuts and maple syrup

And served it with a cup of coffee with milk, Agave, and cinnamon!

For a very fall-like breakfast 🙂

Yesterday, I went on an adventure and made my first bread from scratch! I’ve wanted to make bread for years but was scared of the yeast, and the rising, and the whole process. I cannot tell a lie… I had a meltdown during the making of this bread. It just wasn’t looking right, and when it came out, it still didn’t look pretty, but it tasted DELICIOUS. I’m very proud of it. Maybe when I get better at it, I’ll post a tutorial with tips for anyone else who is nervous about making bread 😉

So here’s my ugly bread. I have a feeling its going to be making a regular appearance around here this fall and winter

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

