Shake it off

For the past 3 weeks or so, I’ve been battling something yukky. It started as a deep, unproductive cough. I stayed home from work one day and felt a little better the next day. At the beginning of next week, it moved into my head and my nose and at my physical I was prescribed Amoxicillin for a sinus infection and what I assume is bronchitis. Blech!

The Tufts 10K is on Monday! I’m so excited to run a race, my last one was in July! Annnnd… I plan on meeting up with a couple of blog friends there, woohoo! Anyone else coming?

I took a couple of weeks off from running to recover from my illness, and I wanted to get one last 5+ mile run in this past weekend. I said I was running Sunday… and then I didn’t feel well. I vowed to do it Monday… but when I got home, I felt like I had been hit by a truck. So, I took a bath and parked myself on the couch. Tuesday morning, I figured I had to get it out of the way in the morning, since by the time I get out of work lately, I feel awful. I really wanted to run outside and get myself used to running in the cold again. However, going outside sent chills through my body, and not good ones. I figured a run on the treadmill was better than running outside and potentially making myself more sick, so off to the gym I went.

I started off feeling GREAT for the first 3 miles. Then… everything went downhill. I was having kind of a tough time breathing (just from the cold… nothing alarming). And I when I finished, I was cold-sweating. Physically, I felt awful. But mentally, I felt really great for dragging myself to run when I didn’t want to. Today I felt okay, so I didn’t do any permanent damage 😉 My pace started out perfect, but from the walk breaks and slower pace at the end, I ended up doing 5.46 miles in 55:00, a 10:04/mile pace. My goal for the 10K is 60:00, which is a 9:40 pace. I was running faster than that before I got sick… so I’m hoping the energy of the race and a week of rest will help me out. But… I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t hit that goal. I’ll just have to sign up for another 10K!

When I got home, I knew I needed protein and potassium, stat. I had an overripe banana, a can of pumpkin… you see where this is going.

Shake it off Pumpkin Protein Shake

  • 1 overripe banana
  • 1/2-2/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • almond milk
  • chocolate protein powder

I tried so hard to get the perfect shot of this smoothie… but the light or my camera weren’t cooperating! Still… its beautiful. And it tasted beautiful, too 😉 Like pumpkin pie in my glass!

How do you handle training when you’re sick?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shake it off

  1. I can’t wait to hear how you do at the race! I am hoping that you feel 100% by then. Thsi awful weather can’t be helping anything. Blah.

    I need to get on the whole pumpkin shake situation. Love me some pumpkin!

  2. Good luck! I hope to be able to run a 10k next year. I’d love to run in this race. My sights are set on 5ks right now.

    Looking forward to reading your race recap!

  3. Katie says:

    That smoothie looks delicious…I might have to try it soon 😉

Leave a Reply

