31 Days of Scary Movies: Amityville Horror (2005)

For the month of October, to celebrate the season of Halloween, I will be posting a review of a movie for each day. Movies will be old, new, vampire, slasher, zombie, ghosts, etc. If you are curious about any movies, shoot me an email! These opinions, unless otherwise noted, are all my own.

AMITYVILLE HORROR

Ok I’m going to be honest and throw it out there. One of the best parts of this movie is that Ryan Reynolds spends a good amount of it shirtless, nude, competing in a wet tshirt contest, or doing manual labor.

In addition to that, I really enjoyed this movie. The beginning gives you just enough time to settle in and get comfortable before crazy things start happening in the house. I haven’t seen the original in awhile, so I don’t feel right comparing them just yet. There are definitely some startling moments as well as some more subtle scares. The one thing I didn’t like was the part where the history of the house was described. As usual, it made the supernatural part of the movie a little less scary, because it actually (kind of) explained what was going on.

What’s great is Ryan Reynolds’ casual descent into craziness. The scariest moments of this movie happen toward the middle, with some ghostly happenings, a claustrophobic closet scene, and RR acting just plain weird. The end has some action, but isn’t necessarily scary… more action/suspenseful. Its still a very fun movie to watch for the house, the story, and the scares.

Oh, and this.

source

Me-ow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 31 Days of Scary Movies: Amityville Horror (2005)

  1. BIOCHEMISTA says:

    Mmmm, love me some [ripped] Ryan Reynolds 😉

    So excited to meet you on Monday! The weather so far has been amazing! Hope it stays 🙂

  2. If I could only convince my hubby that this is a movie we have to rent…but he’s on to my obsession with Ryan Reynolds!

  3. Lisa says:

    I thought the remake was actually pretty good. And of course it didn’t hurt to have Ryan Reynolds in it. 😉

Leave a Reply

