Life Alive!

I had SUCH a fun night last night! But first…

I woke up early and had some extra time, so I made breakfast for me and the husband.

What's that going to be?

Mmmm. Whole Wheat Pancakes with Berry Maple Syrup. I made the pancakes from my usual recipe and I had some raspberries that looked delicious so I made some syrup with them. Into the small pot went

  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • about 8 raspberries
  • tablespoon homemade blueberry jelly (to thicken the syrup)

I brought the syrup to a boil and took it off the heat, stirring and mashing up the raspberries occaisionally. It was SO GOOD with the whole wheat pancakes. I’ll definitely be making this combo again, but will probably start the syrup sooner so it has a little more time to cool.

They didn’t stand a chance.

My other eats for the day included some almonds (not pictured), leftover rightous salad with some calamari, strawberries and kiwi, and cottage cheese and crackers (also not pictured).

After work, I put on my new runner gear that I bought the other day and headed to my cousin’s house for a run and a healthy dinner! I was very excited to try out my new Under Armor running shorts with undies in them. I saw them for $10 in TJ Maxx and couldn’t resist since I’ve been wanting to try them.

That is one pasty, excited runner!

The  verdict on the shorts: heaven. I don’t think I can buy another pair fast enough! For some reason I thought they’d ride up, or be uncomfortable, but they didn’t and they weren’t. Go figure!

We ran just a little over 2 miles which was the perfect distance. Its not far, but it was HOT last night, still in the 90s at 6pm. We thought about not going, but I pushed us into it. A little exercise is better than no exercise at all! Charlotte actually looked at me a little ways in and said “are we sprinting??”. I must be getting faster!

Two happy, sweaty runners, post-run.

Then we went to Life Alive for dinner. I was super excited after checking out the website and I was not disappointed. Its so cute, inside and out!

They are very into the Goddess vibe... very empowering.

And now onto our delicious food and drinks! I started with the Life Alive juice, which was Apple, Beet, Celery, Carrot, Parsley, and Wheatgrass. I feel like I may be the only person that loves the taste of wheatgrass and anything green? It was very, very good!

How could I not love a juice with a heart on top?

I forgot to get a pic of Charlotte’s smoothie, she got the Island Alive which was Pineapple, Banana, Coconut Oil, Vanilla Rice Dream, & Almond Milk. Also delicious.

For our meals, we got tasting plates, which were the perfect size and very reasonably priced. Charlotte got The Goddess, which had smoked tofu, short grain brown rice, steamed carrots, beets, broccoli, and dark greens surrounded by our zesty Ginger Nama Shoyu dressing, and she added almonds.

Sooooo good.

I had The Emporer, which was brown rice, melted cheddar cheese, sundried tomatoes, steamed greens, sweet yellow corn, shredded carrots, tofu and sunflower sprouts crowned Satisfying Sesame Miso sauce. I also added an egg.

I’m not exaggerating, this was one of the best things I have ever eaten. It was delicious, it was filling, it was flavorful, and best of all, I knew I was putting something super healthy into my body!

Over dinner and in the car, Charlotte and I had some great conversation about exercise, eating real food, and healthy lifestyles. We discussed how ugly the words “fat” and “diet” are and how as a society, we’re focused on some pretty unhealthy things. I’m so amazed at Charlotte’s 18 year old mind and how aware it is of what’s going into her body and what’s going on in the food industry. I see big things in her future 🙂 Its also so great to have someone to spend time with who’s on the same page when it comes to nutrition and exercise!

We stopped and got ice cream for our Nana who lives with Charlotte and turned 85 yesterday! Mmm… homemade ice cream never hurt anyone 😉

Off for a busy day at work!! How about you? Do you have anyone in your life who shares your feelings on taking care of yourself and your body?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment